Hydromania

tackett_kathy_keeping-an-eye-out

I will admit, as a photographer trying to get work, I have way to many “water” photographs in my portfolio.  But, no matter how many I have, I always seem to want to do more.  I even used it for my own self portraits, as shown on my previous, (and first), blog post. I know throughout my career I will probably continue to use it in different ways to express my work.

There’s something that fascinates me about water. Water can be reflective, still, active, soft, foggy, moody, light… the possibilities are endless. I love the way it makes hair swim, and move, and float. The way fabric clings, flows, becomes opaque. It’s beautiful.  Not beautiful in the “plastic bag from American Beauty” kind of way, but in a way people all over the world can understand.

Water has the power to not only be impactful and expressive, but to warp and distort as well, which fascinates me even more.  I almost feel like my creative mind is attracted to it because it can change a beautiful image or model and add new meaning to it. What was beautiful and light, can become dark and somber, in the best way possible. And I think that darkness is very much a part of life, though I know many people actively try to ignore it.

I, on the other hand, choose to embrace it.  I’ve found that some of my darkest moments have given me more creative inspiration than the lighter ones, and the resulting image is so much more interesting if water is involved. Water is the essence of life and beauty and art. And art is only art if it makes you feel something.

“She is water. Powerful enough to drown you, soft enough to cleanse you, deep enough to save you.” -Adrian Michael

{For more photos from this series and others, visit my Instagram}

tackett_kathy_blog-signature

6 thoughts on “Hydromania

Leave a Reply

